Thoughtful Thursday –

I love TV.  I’m a bit obsessed, actually.  In the morning I grab a cup of coffee and catch some local news before jumping into the day, and in the evening after dinner The Hub and I like to tune into SitComs or recorded movies to give us a giggle and help us unwind.

We all know that the commercials shown during our favorite shows are designed to make us want – to make us desire the products they are trying to sell. 

What we may not be aware of, and what I have really noticed myself being sucked in by a lot over the past weeks, are the images and things shown in the programs themselves.   For instance, we enjoy watching HGTV together – we guess and giggle about prices and renovation choices and oooo and ahhhh over fancy rooms.  But is it really so harmless?  Watching too much of it always seems to result in a “why can’t we have that?” kind of internal dialogue in my mind.  Not good.

It is  everywhere, it seems, even in places I wouldn’t expect.   I watch a lot of TCM.  I LOVE classic movies – the 1940’s especially.  Even watching old movies, so far removed from our current world, I occasionally feel the pangs of envy (ick…)

It might be an amazing apartment (Auntie Mame’s, perhaps?) or a big, seemingly perfect love between to characters (Nick and Nora Charles come to mind) or whatever.  I find myself getting wrapped up in that whole “but I want THAT” thing.

Does it happen to you too?

I have to stop and remind myself that TV is meant to sell.  But that doesn’t mean that I have to walk away, to give up the enjoyment that we find in our favorite programs.  It does mean that I need to be vigilant in the belief that  “a heart at peace gives life to the body, but envy rots the bones,” (Proverbs 14:30,) and that I need to be ever-more-mindful of (and thankful for) the abundant blessings in my life.

I like TV.  I like to laugh at the SitComs, gain inspiration and ideas from the cooking and decorating programs, and I LOVE a good snuggle with my doggie in front of Saturday morning cartoons way more than any 33 year old childless adult should.  There is no reason not to enjoy TV – but it never hurts to keep it in perspective either.

1 Comment

Filed under Thoughtful Thursdays

One response to “Thoughtful Thursday –

  1. Really great points! We try and figure out which demographics they are trying to reach during commerical breaks at my house. Stopping by from SITS!

Leave a Reply

