Reason number eleventy-kerjillion that my neighbors probably think I am crazy.

I would wager a guess that plenty of people in our neighborhood refer to me as “That crazy blonde lady with the puffy dog.”

They have good reason, I suppose.   I talk to myself in the grocery store.  I garden on the patio in my men’s style jammies.  My order at the corner BBQ  joint frequently consists of my three major food groups: mashed potatoes, french fries, and potato salad. (Mmmmm, Bring on the taters!)

But perhaps the pinnacle of crazy that folks around here could point to is something I get caught doing with embarrassing regularity and it happened again this morning.

I got caught singing to the dog during our walk AGAIN this morning.   I do it all the time, so I don’t know why getting caught by an unsuspecting neighbor as I round a blind corner is such a surprise.    I am actually fairly proud of my lyrical prowess.  Today I was feeling a bit lazy, so the woman pulling her grocery cart down the street was only subjected to my generic Batman theme ripoff “(na-na na-na na-na na-na, na-na na-na na-na na-na, POT-TER!”)   – but I have come up with some great ones, if I do say so myself.  I am particularly fond of “B is for Binky” (my nickname for Potter) to the tune of “C is for Cookie,” and our windy day rendition of “Against the Wind” complete with 2 full verses about the hazards of doggies wizzing in the breeze.

I have only been actually laughed at once, by the guy coming out of the coffee shop who caught me midway through “Inspector Fluffball” (to the tune of Inspector Gadget) and stopped mid-sip of iced latte to laugh out loud at me.  Most people who catch me just smile politely and pass by as I stop short and start blushing.

I guess I could have called this “reason number eleventy-kerjillon why it is time to have a baby” just as easily.  You can hide a whole pile of crazy behind “I’m a parent.”   Singing to a dog seems nutty, but crooning to a kiddo on your daily stroll is, at least, socially acceptable.

And then I could be “That crazy lady with the puffy dog and cutie baby.”

7 Comments

Filed under Day to Day

7 responses to “Reason number eleventy-kerjillion that my neighbors probably think I am crazy.

  1. You enjoy life. I think that’s great. Let ’em laugh. 🙂

  2. stopping by from SITS… I think you should just ask your neighbour to join in 🙂

  3. 🙂 oh my i wish i could meet you coming around the corner singing to your puffy dog 🙂

    keep singin’!

    stopping by from SITS…

  4. I am laughing WITH you! I like being a little crazy. Keeps people wondering! ha ha! I often sing under my breath much in the same way… to the tune of a song with my words applying to what the puppy or kids are up to…and I talk to my pooch while we are out alone. Though I have not been ‘caught’ yet… unless people see me out their windows! Sing on and don’t forget to smile when they catch you!

  5. LOLOLOL I’m dying! I totally do the same thing….and I KNOW my neighbors think I’m nuts, but I really don’t care. 😉

    Just found your blog via SITS…so glad I did! Love it!

    ~melody~

  6. You’re hilarious! I love this post. You’re right, you know. It’s socially acceptable to sing to sweet little babies, but dogs… Not so much. Who made that rule anyway? Doggies are just as cute.
    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. I really enjoy discovering new blogs like yours.

    Kristi, Live and Love…Out Loud
    @tweeingmama

  7. Pingback: Unexpected rewards of mommydom. | Spirit of Power

Leave a Reply

