Thoughtful Thursday – A different kind of Flood

It isn’t a secret that I tear up at practically everything.  I am that girl sniffling at the end of the cheesy Hallmark commercials, the mere thought of my sweet little nephew doing just about anything during his days leaves me reaching for the tissues, and heaven help those around me if I happen to be attending a wedding, graduation, or other joyous event.

That being said, I have been so. much. worse. lately.  All of this potential baby-having stuff has left me a full on blubbering, emotional wreck.

I should have seen it coming today, should have known I was walking into the Lion’s Den.

But OH NO – I had an errand, and I was going to get it done.  I headed into the card aisle at Target to get a birthday card for Dr. Sissy and a Father’s Day card for Daddy.

I. was. BAWLING.  Oh my stars, those cards can really get ya right where it counts.  Cards about growing up together with sisters, how no one understands a woman like her sister can, heck even the kind of funny ones were making me cry.  AND THE FATHER’S DAY CARDS!?  Forget about it, by the time I found one explaining how everything I am is because of who he is, and how proud I am to be his daughter I was honking my nose into a napkin I found in my purse and sobbing.  One guy pretty much ran from the aisle.  I am surprised they didn’t call security.

Woooo.  It was one emotionally charged trip to Target.  Then again, I could just as easily say the same thing about the trip I took to the KITCHEN last night that somehow ended in tears.  I don’t even remember what set me off now.

Heck, by the time I actually get pregnant, I kind of expect that tears will just leak continuously from my eyes for the full 9 months.  I will probably wash us both down stream when I finally get to meet the little gal or guy.

ATTENTION TARGET SHOPPERS  – Pay no attention to the crazy lady in the card aisle, it is best to just let her be.

 

Today’s Prayer:

Heavenly Father, 
Thank you for the precious time we have had to spend with my sister, brother-in-law, and nephew this past week. Of the countless gifts you have and continue to give to me, my family is the greatest and most treasured of all.   And Father I thank you also because I know that you will grow that blessing of family with our own child in  your time, and I am so excited and joyful in anticipation of that creation. Help me to make the bonds of our family even stronger, to treasure the wisdom, the love,the support, and all the other offerings that my family gives, and to never take that gift for granted.  Finally Father, help me to return all of that to them, and to consider their needs and their hearts in the decisions and actions I make and take each day.

This I pray In Jesus name,  Amen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Day to Day, Empowering the Spirit, Thoughtful Thursdays

Leave a Reply

