Thoughtful Thursday

Waiting is not my strong suit.  As long as I can remember I have been this way – I don’t like to wait for anything.  I hate it when people are perpetually late; if I have decided to buy a product then I want to go right out and do it (granted, I am diligent in my research before I ever get to that point;) and I really, really hate waiting to see how things are going to “turn out” in any given situation.  It is so hard to sit and wait – and I admit I have often tried to “force” whatever is going on top hurry up and happen.

HOWEVER – that doesn’t work. You can’t get the late person there any faster (and you don’t know what the reason is behind his or her lateness.)   Making a quick purchase often means not getting a great price or having time to consider alternatives (including NOT buying the product at all.) 

In addition, I know it is His timing and no one else’s that matters, and that trying to force things forward will probably just result in even more setbacks as I stray from the path of His plan.

I once read an article on what it means to be truly mature, and a large portion of it was centered on being able to wait.  Children want instant gratification, and become confused and/or frustrated if they can’t have or do or be what or where they want  right this second. 

As we grow we (are supposed to) gain the skills and understanding we need to see the reason behind delaying that which we believe we want.  A spiritually and emotionally mature person understands that is not always possible (or even desireable) to be given everything we want.

I have done a lot of very intentional work on myself in this area.  I have practiced intentional resistance when I believe that there is something I want, delaying large purchases or decisions for a period of at least a week, usually more, to watch price patterns and talk to those who may own the product I am considering. 

When it feels like I want to go a certain way in my life, and barrier after barrier is making it seem completely impossible, that is a good indication that I need to stop pushing and be in prayer.  I need to stop fighting and trust in His plan.  Usually if I find myself feeling unusually sad, angry, or lonely, it is because I am trying to force something, to fight against His timing. 

I struggle with this sometimes.  It is hard to wait even when you know it is what you should/have to do.  It is hard even if you know that waiting will keep you in peace.

I think as you practice it, your “waiting muscle” gets stronger and it becomes easier, even normal. 

Isaiah 40:31 tells us that the waiting is powerful.  “But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.”    It is the waiting that brings strength and renews a person.  The waiting is where the work happens.

So even if it is hard, I will wait with joy and peace knowing the work that happens within.

Today’s Prayer:

Heavenly Father,

In all things, help me to accept your timing, Lord.  Give me a patient heart that is not easily deceived, and a spirit for contemplation regarding large purchases and any action that is not done solely to aid another.

Guide me in your work as I wait upon you Lord, through my prayer and worship, so that I am useful to You in Your plan.

I will celebrate the wait, and the work you do in me each day, and I am so thankful for it.

This I pray in Jesus’ name, Amen

Leave a comment

Filed under Day to Day, Empowering the Spirit

Leave a Reply

