Menu Plan Monday

Menu Planning lately finds me struggling to find balance between being economical, not horrifyingly unhealthy (most of the time,) quick and simple, AND keeping things fresh so we don’t get bored.

I don’t feel like I am doing an excellent job – often things are quick and cheap, but not very exciting or as healthful as I would like – or a dinner is healthy and inexpensive, but I find The Hub (and sometimes me,) less-than-excited about actually eating it.  Rarely am I meeting all the criteria.  😦

Along with my preoccupation with all of that – I am now also starting to think of freezer-worthy meals that will actually make my life easier when The Cub makes his debut.  Don’t get me wrong, I freeze practically everything – but it is usually with a focus on saving money, not necessarily saving time – I need freezer meals that do both, AND actually have The Hub excited to eat and me comfortable with the nutrition.

Argh!!!!  I am open to suggestions and ideas in this endeavor readers.

In the mean time, here is what’s on the table at the Tree House this week;

Dinners

Sunday –  Build our own nachoes

Monday – Meatless Monday – “Binner” – Breakfast sammie sliders and homestyle hashbrown potatoes

Tuesday –  Fish and Chips

Wednesday – Baked Chicken Fingers with BBQ Sauce,  Spinach Salad with Oranges and Dried Cranberries

Thursday – Beef Stroganoff with Carrots and Peas

Friday/Weekend –  Grilled Cheese, Chicken Noodle Soup

Lunches –  All about the leftovers this week, practically every dinner will yield leftovers for both of us, and The Hub can break it up with some frozen packaged “lean” entrees I got a screaming deal on so he doesn’t get bored.

For more great menu plan ideas, don’t forget to stop by the Menu Plan Monday over at I’m an Organizing Junkie!  This week I am skipping the Spirit of Power ”Close My Eyes and Click” featured fellow MPM blog (kind of) to mention this guest post from OrgJunkie highlighting how Tyra from Ucreate Foods uses a magnetic menu board to keep her menu planning organized.  Nice!

2 Comments

Filed under Meals

2 responses to “Menu Plan Monday

  1. Sara

    With my first, I froze the following:
    Calzones (easy to sneak in veggies and make with whole wheat flour)
    Breakfast casseroles/quiche/frittattas. I would bake one in the morning and eat it all throughout the day. Again, easy to sneak in veggies.
    Both white and red chili.
    All sorts of soups work well, too.

  2. Kimberly Hatch

    Lasagna-Precooked and frozen into individual servings.
    Manicotti – You can just stuff the shells and freeze.
    Birds Nest Pie – Awesome gooey cheesey melty goodness
    Tortilla Chicken – Assemble and Freeze
    Cheesy Ham and Potatoes – Use frozen hashbrowns.. They freeze better.
    If you are looking at making a bunch of meals to strictly freeze try to use frozen veggies, they tend to be less watery than fresh then frozen.
    These were lifesavers but always remember to set a timer. The kiddo will always need something as soon as you put it in the oven or on the stovetop. I also precooked a ton of bacon and froze them in individual bags (enough for a BLT). Quick zap in the microwave and you have your B.
    I also do this for hamburger and you can just add it as needed for quick microwave meals.
    Also make use of the precut fresh veggies and fruit from the deli.
    I also kept a ton of precut cheese on hand, it makes for great middle of the night snacks.
    Looking forward to seeing the little guy!

Leave a Reply

