Menu Plan Monday

It’s MPM again already – and this week finds me starting to whip up some double batches of things to stow in the freezer – I figure even if the little guy does his momma right and waits until his due date to make an appearance, it might be a good idea to just start making double batches of things and freezing them even if we use and replace prior to his debut.  (After all, there have already been some evenings that I have not wanted to cook after working all day in my fabulously ever-expanding state.)

So what’s on the plan this week?

Sunday – Garlic Lemon Pork Loin and Herbed Mashed Potatoes

Monday – Beef Stew (I have a GIANT roast in the slow cooker, the rest will get cooled and frozen for later use.)

Tuesday – Jambalaya (for my Southern Husband in honor of Mardi Gras)

Wednesday – Chicken Cordon Bleu Pasta with Broccoli (Cooking a bunch of extra chicken to dice/shred and freeze)

Thursday – Pork and Bean Tostadas (extra  spicy beans will be frozen)

Friday/Weekend – Ground Beef Stroganoff (also making meat balls and browning extra ground beef to freeze)

Also on tap for over the week or the weekend:   Blanching and freezing carrots and broccoli, pureeing tomatoes to freeze for sauces, and making french fries and mashed potatoes for freezing.

Lunches –  I had a great coupon to match with a sale this weekend, so I shamelessly loaded The Hub up with Lean Cuisine entrees to choose from, (which means I don’t have to stock the freezer with his usual lunch faves while I concentrate on hording up some frozen dinners,) and there will still be lots of left overs from some of this week’s dinners, even after saving some away in the freezer, so I will probably eat those.  BLTs have been sounding good again lately, and it is supposed to be chilly – so maybe some soup from my stash as well.

Don’t forget to check out the Menu Plan Monday round up over at I’m an Organizing Junkie for lots of great Menu Plans and ideas.  My “close my eyes and click” featured blogger from the round up this week is Shwanda over at You Have More Than You Think – why you ask?  3 words, people:  Bacon. Chicken. Thighs. 

Uh – yummy.

3 Comments

Filed under Meals

3 responses to “Menu Plan Monday

  1. Thanks for featuring me on Menu Plan Monday! Now all I have to do is get up and cook. Ugh! So exhausted.

  2. Sarah S.

    Kerri,
    Why the blanching of veggies before freezing? I like the idea of doing some frozen veggies myself rather than buying them (those organic ones come in tiny, expensive packages), but I don’t know much about blanching.
    Thanks.

  3. Blanching makes many veggies freezable that would not be if left raw. (Try freezing a raw floret of broccoli just to see – it is not pretty.) Note that when you buy frozen veggies, they are cooked, not frozen raw – HOWEVER, I like to just blanch my veggies very briefly in boiling water (a minute or 2 depending on how tough or tender the veggie,) then cool quickly and freeze (you can use an ice water bath to cool quickly, or spread in a single layer on a cookie sheet and stick the veggies in the freezer to cool.) Cooking completely makes it tough to reheat them for use later without ending up with mushy over cooked veggies.
    After cooling, I portion them into ziplocs, label, and stick into the freezer.
    Freezing your own vegetables is a great money saver and very easy – give it a try! (Hint, want to try freezing a new veggie, but not sure how? Google “freezing ____________” and insert the veggie name for ideas.)

    Keri

Leave a Reply

