Thoughtful Thursday – Not in a hurry

So here we are at 37 weeks – me and my little guy, growing and healthy and truckin’ along.

People keep saying things about how I must be ready to have him out already (I really don’t look THAT big, people,) or that they “bet I can’t wait for him to be here.”

Well, for me he IS here.  he is the little guy I feel squirming around after dinner, pushing his tiny bum into my  belly.  🙂

I am very excited to see him when the time comes – don’t get me wrong – but there is great value, for him and for me, in these last few weeks (however long God decides he should stay where he is,) of me getting to have him all to myself in there.

The time I have had with him like this is something I am so thankful for – after all we have been through, I still end up in awe when I stop to think that I really have this little guy, this gift from God, growing inside me and getting ready to come out and meet everybody.  I am still totally addicted to listening to his heart beat on my little doppler, I still stop and cuddle my nice big bump and whisper prayers of thanks several times a day, I still feel like the luckiest girl in the whole wide world every second of every day just knowing that he is there.

I can’t say time has flown by, like I hear so many pregnant women say – I have felt the weight of the time passing all-too-well.  Known what each day means, for him and for me; and I have never felt relaxed in pregnancy, always guarded, always vulnerable.  There is so very, very much to feel protective towards.

And here we are – 37 weeks.   “Great with child” if you want to be all poetic and biblical about it (how was Mary riding around on a DONKEY like this!?)  Great with Blessing.  Great with Hope.  Great with Joy. Great with Thanks.  Great with Love.

I am not in a hurry – he will come in God’s good time,  and we will be ready when he is.

4 Comments

Filed under Thoughtful Thursdays

4 responses to “Thoughtful Thursday – Not in a hurry

  1. Maude

    I love your words and thoughts. We are all so lucky!

    Love, Maude

  2. You have such a sweet outlook toward pregnancy. I’m glad your body is handling it well, and your little boy will definitely come when he is ready! Enjoy having him all to yourself!

  3. Pingback: How was this a year ago? | Spirit of Power

Leave a Reply

