How I learned to stop worrying and love the bomb, er BURBS, that is.

It is no secret to anyone that The Hub and I consider ourselves Urban-dwellers at this point.  The centrally-located fabulousness of The Tree House had me convinced that we would raise our hypothetical off-spring there for many happy years to come.  I truly believed that I would leave my little palace in the sky only when someone pried me, kicking and screaming, to a house not quite so perfectly located, but still very much in central Denver.

So here we are – it is go-time on the house hunt.

For months (ok, years really,) I have been psyching myself up about the concessions people make in our central neighborhoods – limited square-footage, tiny closets, nutty floor plans, basement master suites (hey, at least it has good closet space and an actual master bath,) and the like.   I told myself that as a proponent of the Not So Big House movement, all of these things would fit right in with my idea of a great home.  We can find a house we will love in a neighborhood with a good public school for Junior that is still close to all of the action.

Then last week, while responding to a Facebook post from an old hometown friend, it occurred to me that while the city may have lots to offer that is oh-so-appealing to mom and dad, the ‘burbs is kind of where it’s at for a kid.   So much easy access to all the things a kid loves – and with no parking nightmares for the parents!  An epiphany the size of the city AND county of Broomfield (and that is big, people,) hit me – I think I *want* Jr to grow up in the suburbs.   The city will always be there, and we will always have places we love to go within it, but I think I want Jr. to know the best of all worlds – city adventure one day, wide open spaces the next.  Room to ride bikes and beautiful suburban golf courses for The Hub to share with his son.  It is so not about The Hub and I as we defined ourselves in the past – it is all about the family we have become, and the needs of that family.

I think I want Jr. to have the space to discover who he is and where he wants to go in this big, promising, wonderful world – just like his dad and I both did when we were growing up.

(Oh, an I could probably get used to wandering out of my beautiful kitchen, through my over-sized garage, down the clean and well-kept street, and into a lounge chair next to the development’s private pool, too.  Not all the perks are for the kiddos exclusively.)

3 Comments

Filed under Day to Day

3 responses to “How I learned to stop worrying and love the bomb, er BURBS, that is.

  1. Annie

    Does that mean you guys are looking and are going to rent the treehouse?

  2. The Tree House is going on the market in April – we hope to sell. It is a great rental market right now, but we are at least going to put it on the market and see if we get any takers before deciding to be landlords. (Why not try.) 🙂
    But yep – we are moving on up! (or down, I guess, since it will be OUT of our deluxe apartment, in the skyyyyyyy.)

  3. Jes

    To be blunt, I don’t know how you’ve done it this long. I only had to lug Little G with his seat and gear from the parking space down the street up to your place once – and wondered how in the world people do it when carrying a baby AND groceries. I do love the excitement of the city, and walking around downtown, but am also glad to come home to my (relatively) quiet house and sit in the backyard watching birds, drink in hand.

Leave a Reply

